Sales Tax Registration in Ohio
Every retailer before selling any taxable product has to compulsory take Sales tax registration in Ohio state. Person having nexus in Ohio state and selling taxable product or service has to obtain sales tax registration.
Any person situated outside Ohio and selling products or services in Ohio with a possible nexus has to obtain sales tax registration.
How to start business in Ohio?
If you have a physical location in Ohio, then you must take vendor license (sale and use tax registration).
If you do not have physical presence in Ohio (Nexus), you should consider a possibility and comply accordingly. If you are making sales through marketplaces, then you do not require sales tax registration if marketplace is paying taxes.
Different types of Vendor's licenses
Ohio tax department have different type of licenses for different type of businesses, for example:
Regular Vendor's License: It is issued by County Auditor. It is applicable on every person selling in Ohio state from a physical location. Sellers of physical property and services should get regular license in form ST-1 which costs $25 for each location.
Transient Vendor's License: This is a temporary sellers, who sells at place without having physical location. For example sellers selling in exhibitions. It is issued in Form ST-1 and cost $25.
Vendor License for Out of State sellers: As name suggests, this license is issued to sellers making sales in Ohio from other states and are by law required to collect and pay taxes in Ohio state. It is issued in form UT 1000 and costs $25.
Documents required for Sales Tax Registration
Registration procedure is online and you need to provide following information about business:
- Business identification information
- Business entity
- Date you will begin collecting Ohio sales tax
- NAICS Code
Further following personal information of owner or responsible person is to be provided:
- Social Security number
- Partnership Social Security numbers or federal employer's identification numbers for each partner
- Texas corporation's file number from the Texas Secretary of State.
- Social Security number for each officer or director of a corporation
- North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS) code required for all businesses.
Sales Tax Registration procedure in Ohio
- Visit Ohio Sales tax registration portal
- Click on Ohio Business Gateway
- Sign up or login on Business Gateway page
- Apply for business license.
Sales Tax Rates in Ohio
Check the sales tax calculator and rates in Ohio.
Updated: March 31, 2020
Related PostsSales Tax in USA
Every economy to sustain development projects needs sources of funding. Sales tax worldwide has been major contributor for government funding. I...
Sales Tax Registration in Washington
You will need Business License registration or sales and use tax registration to run your business in Washington state. Business license can be ...
Sales Tax Registration process in New York
Every person making taxable sales has to obtain Certificate of Authority. Certificate of Authority is registration certificate issued by New York t...
Sales Tax Registration in Florida
Florida collects both Sales Tax and Use Tax. Sales tax is charged on any sale, storage or rental, unless the product is exempted from tax. Use t...
Sales Tax Registration Texas
Every entity engaging in trade of products, services have to register under Sales Tax in Texas. Texas has both sales tax and use tax on taxable pro...
Sales Tax Registration in California
Sales and Use tax are applicable in state of California. If you are seller here or have nexus then you are required to have sales tax per...
Tax system in United States of America
In world 2 types of taxes are levied on citizens, Direct Taxes and Indirect Taxes. Impact of direct tax is born by tax payer and indirect taxes are...